Sundays With Loretta 8.9.15

I’ve had a couple of ideas rolling around for this week’s SWL, one a video and the other just text. After running out of time for the video, I figured that the text post would be quick, I’d tell a story, and boom- another week done. Of course, that seems rather impersonal, and that was weighing heavily on me, this morning. Out came Forever Young, and I was on a mission. I’m not quite sure what that mission was, but there I was, reading… reading… and by 9 AM, I’d once again reached the end and was sobbing. (Because that’s how I roll, okay?)

bbloyoedit

I believe that if we have lived our lives fully and well, and have accomplished, at least in part, the things we were put here to do, we will be prepared- mentally, physically, and spiritually- for our separation from this world. (Loretta Young)

The 15th year since Loretta’s death will be upon us this week, on August 12th. Because of that and because I’ve grown to adore her so much, I want to talk not only about her, but about her power to get through to people, on an emotional level, to help them improve their lives. I guess what I’m saying here is that I feel like I’m one of those people. Oh, I wish I could tell a story about meeting Loretta, as I do about Kathryn, but that was never as it was supposed to be. And in some great, cosmic way, the bumps in the roads and my silly hatred was the way it had to go, too. Without that, there would be no awakening, no realization that I needed to work on my bitterness and anger. Well, obviously I’m a work in progress, but that’s another story. My point is that she’s gone, but oh how she’s still very here. I needed that. I needed that more than words can say. I’ve seen too many family members and friends die, in my life, had so much regret and anger at myself, anger at God. Loretta pushes me to stop being so mad.

There are many choices we make, in life, and I don’t know that all of us are ever sure if we are doing exactly what we were put here to do. In fact, I’m here to tell everyone that sometimes your real purpose is to just do nothing at all. What I’ve gotten the most out of these past few months, though, is that as long as you are able to take your next breath, it’s never too late to take a chance and live. Be present and be in the present. Your past made you who you are, but only that person can change your tomorrows.

And now I need a kleenex, so if you’ll excuse me, I’ll go have my catharsis elsewhere. 🙂 Have a great night, everyone.

3 thoughts on “Sundays With Loretta 8.9.15

  1. Oh my dear Kayla, how this touched me – its my turn to drag out the Kleenex. August 12th will be a tough day, my beloved M-I-L has been ‘gone’ for 15 years this week. You’re so right (how do you know her so well?) she continues to be present for those of us who need & love her. She always said “God sees the trying” – now you remind me of that same lesson. I’ll keep my spiritual eyes, ears & my heart open to what she is sharing….I have a feeling it will have something to do with being kindness in action? Thank you! 🙂

  2. As usual, Loretta gives a beautiful & meaningful quote while approaching the end of her life here on earth. Our favorite is when asked if she wanted a small funeral, she replied, “Open all the doors, let everyone in”! ” Rejoice”! ” “I am going home to God!”
    And this is so true!

Leave a comment