Happy Walter Pidgeon’s Birthday, Movie Nerds!

Walter Pidgeon and Greer Garson doing the normal people stuff.

Walter Pidgeon and Greer Garson doing the normal people stuff.

I must wish a happy birthday to one of my many fake dead husbands, today. Even though he was married to Ruth for 53 years, a girl can dream, can’t she? You know, there is probably some sort of psychological implication with the way in which I only fall madly in fangirl love with dudes who were married for 10000000 years to the same woman. Is it reliability? Trustworthiness? Eh, who cares? You’re beautiful, fake dead husband #3. Never change.

I AM LEGITIMATELY WEAK FROM THIS.

I AM LEGITIMATELY WEAK FROM THIS.

9 thoughts on “Happy Walter Pidgeon’s Birthday, Movie Nerds!

  1. Where were you when I was younger? We could’ve been best friends? You and your fake dead husbands could’ve double dated with me and my fake dead husbands (Williams Powell and Holden) or my fake still alive husband Michael Caine.

    Even though I think The Girl of the Golden West is mostly bad (it take 40 minutes for JMacD and NEddy to be in the same scene!!!), I love the Love Team crossover of Jeanette and Walter. It’s odd and fun!

    Have a nice day!
    Holly

    • I would have liked to hear Jeanette and Walter sing together!
      People often say that I was born in the wrong time. I’m adamant that I was made for air conditioning and home video, lol. Plus, it’s easier to profess my love for my fake dead husbands with them dead- they won’t find out about it and file a restraining order, lmao!

  2. When I was a little girl , my aunt always said she swooned over Water Pidgeon. I didn’t get it because I only knew him as the king in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella. Now I get it.

  3. I’ve loved Walter Pidgeon ever since I can remember. Love his looks. Love his speaking voice. And, honestly, I wish Jeanette’s character in The Girl of the Golden West had ended up with his character instead of Nelson’s. I guess the MacEddy folks would consider me sinful for saying that! Even though I AM a saint, you know….

    Since Walter made EIGHT movies with Greer, I’m just guessing that Greer did not have a sister (who could not talk due to a stroke) living at the California retirement home in the early 1970’s when a certain “wannabe” author visited there. LOL

  4. Love Julia Misbehaves! It’s great in every way!

    And, actually, I don’t know of any really melty J&N love scenes. As they say, “only in the eyes of the beholder”. With a bit of fantasy manipulation and spiked Kool-Aid added to enhance the view… 🙂

  5. Alright, ladies! Leave Nelson out of this! I’ll take him and Errol Flynn and Cary Grant and Gene Kelly and you-all can have the rest! LOL

Leave a Reply

