Midnight Lace (1960)

midnightlaceposter

Stars: Doris Day, Rex Harrison, John Gavin, Myrna Loy, Roddy McDowall, Herbert Marshall(‘s wooden leg)

Oh, lookie here, its yet another movie I haven’t seen since the dawn of time! This one, however, I have an excuse for. If it had been on DVD at any point in the last 10 years, I would have watched it ad nauseum. Now, thanks to TCM and its superb Vault Collection, it is available and it is beautiful.

Because of the nature of the film, a suspense thriller, I don’t want to go into what happens or give screen caps that may reveal something. Instead, I want to focus on the fact that TCM and all of its restoration minions did an A+++ job on this print. No longer does it look like an oil painting left out in the rain. It is as beautiful to look at as it is riveting in storyline. The sound is completely off the charts, too. While I had to turn mine up a little more than normal (I have to do this with Warner Archive releases, too, so its no big deal), it was as if these people were in the room, with me. It made my paltry little Insignia speakers out to be Bose. Never, in my life, have I been as impressed with the sound of a DVD as I was, with this. A lot of people adore this film, and I say there is absolutely no reason why anyone should hesitate in buying it. It is a definite +1 for your movie lover rep score, based on DVDs you own. You simply can’t not buy this. To help you in your quest, GO BUY IT HERE. CLICK ME. IT TICKLES. Apparently it’s on backorder until the 9th, but SET THIS UP NOW. YOU NEED THIS IN YOUR LIFE. CAPS ARE NECESSARY.

Ok, I lied. Here’s one screen cap of Myrna Loy and her amazing hair that I will envy all of my born days.

minml

NOW WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?! Get back up there, click that link, and buy this movie!

One thought on “Midnight Lace (1960)

Leave a Reply

